Kinsmen Gorge Park #yyj
Esquimalt Gorge Park was first established as BC Electric Gorge Park in 1905, but as far back as the 1860s local settlers used this 11.65 hectare area for recreation.
In 1907, BC Electric officially opened Japanese Tea Gardens there, along with an amusement park and floating sampan tearoom. Sadly, the gardens were destroyed by anti-Japanese fervor in 1941.
The park’s popularity went into a decline until the 1950s when it was given to the Township of Esquimalt. It was upgraded through the generosity of the Kinsmen Club, after whom the park was named until 2006.
The gently rolling landscape of the park includes horticultural and forested areas. There are perennial borders, a rose garden, and many fine heritage trees, including a few hundred-year old umbrella pines. Benches are found along the waterway path, and picnic tables are scattered throughout the lawn areas.
Gorge Creek was restored in 2005 and is now home to native plants and wildfowl unique to the region.
The park is found on Tillicum Road just south of the Gorge Waterway. You can also enter on foot from Sioux Place, off Craigflower Road.
Picture: Taken by Robin Cushing in Summer 2012